Pictures

As promised, the pictures of what I have been up to (:

For this week, zero action on my creative doodles, because I’ve had a stomach flu. I dislike stomach flus…

First topic: Costumes

This is what I was talking about when I said costume props:

IMGP0663IMGP0664

I know, they don’t look like the brooches from the movies, but hey, it’s an elven brooch! And this one was made by Ireth (:  I asked my brother for a sheet of metal, and he gave me a small, thin sheet of iron. I drew the leaf shape on it and cut it out with a special pair of scissors (my brother had these, he has every kind of technical tool you could ever wish for, haha). Do NOT cut metal with normal scissors! Then I used pliers to bend the metal a little and painted it green with normal acryllic paint. Then to seal the paint I used a clear top coat nail varnish. The gold is a golden nail varnish, something that was not seen in the movies, but the leaves of Lórien are gold. To finish I used superglue to glue a pin on the back, this one happened to have a flat surface which was perfect for this brooch (:

So, now you can all guess what I’m making, it’s an elven cloak. Because of that nasty flu I haven’t started yet on the cloak, but I will do that tomorrow. And I will wear this to the next Hobbit movie, ofcourse.

Second topic, my side project:

IMGP0665I’m working on something that is currently a side project, but it’s going to be BIG. I already announced that I was going to do something huge soon, these are preparations. Can you guess what it is?

Third: While I was sick, this was my main source of entertainment:

IMGP0671Reading the last part of the trilogy. Haven’t finished it yet.

Last: My sweater!

IMGP0672This is something else I booked a lot of progress on while I was sick. I was so lucky to not have a headache.

Now, the left is going to be one side, I think the back, and the right is going to be the front. The back is already finished, the front is what I’m still working on. There’s a difference with these two pieces, the back has a strong curve for the taille, because at the time I thought I should do that. Now I’m making the other one straight, so that hopefully it’ll balance each other out a bit, and if not, then I probably have to do the left one all over again. And after that there’s the sleeves.

IMGP0674Why does this take me so long? Well, I think it’s the stitch. The pattern is repetitive, but the stitches are so small that when you’ve done one row, you hardly see any progress. And then it gets boring because you have to do so many rows. But, I really want to finish this thing now because then I’ll be able to move on to the next project.

As for the pictures, this is it. I’m not going to show my costume yet, or the makeup that I tested, because I’ll lose my element of surprise.

It’s raining here today, so I think I’m going to work on my painting on the wall today. Have a nice sunday!

Love,

-M.

Leave a Reply

