DIY: Elven Ears

These are the ears that go with this costume!

Products used:

– clay

– liquid latex (Kryolan)

– Talc powder

Procedure:

Make ears of clay. I took some pictures of my ears and try to create a clay model of them, then I gave them pointed ends. I chose to let the clay dry for a night.

ears1

Apply a layer of latex, let this dry until you don’t see much of the light liquid colour anymore, apply another layer and repeat. I did about 4 layers. WARNING: Use either really really old brushes or cheap ones, because you’re going to have to throw them out after using latex on them. I also used my fingers. Make sure you’re not allergic to latex!!!!

IMG_0359

Let this dry properly for another night. Make sure you don’t put this in bright daylight, that will make your latex darker.

ears2

Use a powder on your latex while it’s still on the clay sculture. Preferably a talc powder. Slowly pull the latex off, powder this other side as you go. Your ears will come off inside out (:

ears3

IMG_0368

Done! Try them on to see how you did. I discovered that mine will need some cutting and ofcourse, a lot of makeup. This version however will be a lot better then my previous elven ears!

ears5

Love,

-M.

Leave a Reply

