Painting progress May + updates

Hi everyone!

Sorry for the silence.. I know it’s terrible..
As usual though, I have worked on things.. They’re just not finished yet. The main reason for my lack of posting this month is the following:
My laptop screen has a huge crack in it, it’s been there for 2 months now. I’ve found a person who is going to fix it, but the screen is a special type (apparently?) and now it takes weeks to get a new one. Now I try to use my laptop as little as possible because it’s really annoying, plus I haven’t saved any photos on the laptop, because otherwise I have to make yet another backup which takes a lot of time. So, I still have all photos on my card and simply forget to upload them…

Firstoff: the painting on the wall. There’s some more detail in it, I gave life to the castle in the clearing, the path has more definition, just all over more definition..

IMG_1977

Second: I was crocheting another scarf with the broomstick stitch, same as the red one I did last year. It’s not finished yet.

Third: For the painting that is shown above, I made a model of the castle that is in the clearing.. Like, a crafted model with my materials from back in the day when I was still an architecture student instead of constructive engineer?
I present to you, a scale model of the Castle of Hogwarts:

IMG_1856

The model was something I’ve been wanting to do for quite a while, I researched all the places within the castle once, I had maps of all the floors, it’s crazy really.. But, yes, I love Harry Potter and I believe the magic never ends. You should check out this song! I know, off topic, but it’s cool! There’s quite some names missing though, haha (:
So, after I finished drawing and painting the little castle on the wall, I had no purpose for the model.
No, there’s not going to be some contest to win this thing. I already gave it away, to a friend who’s even a bigger fan of the whole world of magic then I am (Hi Andrew!) and I am 100% sure the model is in good hands with him 🙂

Fourth: Sure everyone remembers this guy! :

IMG_0122

This is my most viewed post, which is wonderful, and now it will get an expansion! Whoohooo! I told you last time that I was working on something big, well, that would be a COMPLETE COSTUME to go with this pretty cloak. It’s almost done, I’m still working on a very detailed embroidery and after that I want to create an actual pattern for you guys! Which will take us to the next update:

My wrist. I had an inflammation in the joint. Is that how you call this in English? Not sure. But I hope you understand. In Dutch it’s: ontstoken polsgewricht.
This happened out of nowhere, it’s quite annoying. The fact that I had a mountain of homework and studying to do did not ease my mind about this.
And so, I agreed that I should probably give everything a break. No crocheting, knitting, anything that might do more damage. I have to use my arm a lot for school already, so, yes, this really sucks. Now, at night, while watching TV or something, I have nothing to DO! Fellow crocheters and knitters will know 😛
Luckily there’s only a few more weeks of school left, I’ve got 2 more projects which are not individual, meaning more work during the week and less during weekends (:

But there’s always something to brighten my days! In just a few weeks I will be walking around at IMATS LONDON!!!! Finally!! Counting days here.. I haven’t made a complete wish list yet, so if you have any suggestions, feel free to tell me! One thing’s for sure: my #1 stop is at Sugarpill. Oh, happy day 🙂

Love,

-M.

PS: I read ‘The Silmarillion”. I feel like Galadriel, knowing everything. It was great (:

Leave a Reply

