The Complete Elven Costume pattern

It’s here! It’s here!

I know I said this multiple times already, but, the Elven costume cloak is still the biggest attraction to this blog thanks to a link on Pinterest. I cannot thank the person who did that enough, just, please read this someday? Thanks so much!
Especially now, with Halloween behind us and December 10 coming closer (the movie actually came out YESTERDAY in the UK!), more and more people have come to check out my version. I told you some time ago that I would be uploading a pattern for everything, that day has finally arrived! 🙂
The one thing you had to wait for, was for me to decide that the embroidery was finished. It is. I think. If not, I will update it, but you can go and do the embroidery part however you want it to be, it’s not a priority. Also, writing this post and making the patterns in Autocad took me a long time, because it was kind off boring.. 😛 I have no idea what I’m doing, if you have ANY questions because you want to make your own version, please, please ask, because I don’t know if I’ve been clear enough but I just had to get this article out there for you 🙂

My mom and I had so much fun shooting this. It was one of the rare occasions I needed help, because my timer was just driving me insane. Anyways, enjoy this photoshoot, note that you can click on them to see the real size & scroll down for all the patterns!

Note: All measurements are in millimetres. That’s just how my AutoCAD works. I’m a building engineer, I don’t do centimetres. Oh, and this is Europe, so, metric system!!!! 🙂

It probably comes in handy if you know my sizes, so you can compare and adjust, so here we go:
– Length: 1,80 m
– Bust & waist: UK size 10, which is a US size 6? The European M, 38.

1 2 4 3 5 6 7 8 9 12 10 11

First up: the cloak!

1. The main part of the cloak is an ordinary retangle that will have folds on one end, which will serve to drape it around your shoulders. In the professionally AutoCAD drawn pattern below, you will see the thick outline, which represents the finished outline, not the amount of fabric you should cut! Always take a bit extra 😉
I finished all the edges by folding them twice before sewing over the edge. This way the raw part is invisible. The 20 millimeters on the bottom are my standard for finishing. However, on the top, you see a larger dimension. Make sure to create an open ‘tunnel’ here, so the chord for the neckline can go through it! See picture below.

2. The chord. This is very easy to say, but might prove difficult for beginners. I had some trouble with it as well, because I wanted my chord to be straight and flat, but you know, it’s not.. 😛
What I did is simply take some long piece of fabric, fold one edge two times as if you would finish an edge, then take the other side in as well and sew over it in one go. I tried to draw a schematic cross-section, hope that clarifies it.

Main part of the cloak

3. The hood. This needs an explanation.
Step 1: Take a large piece of fabric. Fold it together. Now imagine that the fold in your fabric is the dashed line in my diagram. Cut out the triangle shape as I show in my drawing, so when you unfold this triangle, it becomes a kite shape. You need two of these kites, so repeat the proces 😉
Step 2: Lay the two kites on top of eachother and sew them together according to the diagram for step 2. Remember that this will be the “inside” of the hood, so lay them inside-out!
Step 3: Taking the two corners shown in the diagram of both ‘kites’ and pulling them outwards, should give you the next big triangle shape, once you lay  the piece flat on your surface.
Also finish the lining of the whole structure before going to step 4.
Step 4: Putting it together!
Take a look at the second photograph, it shows how I made little folds in the hood before swewing it on the main cloak. The photo shows that the chord is already going through the “tunnel” system and this way you can make the neckline as wide as it needs to be. Then you’re able to lay the hood on top of the cloak. The procedure is to have the outside of the cloak facing towards you, then lay one side of the hood on top of that, making sure the inside is actually inside, not outside. Also shown in the second photograph is that I pinned the cloak at the same spot as the sewn part of the tunnel. Do NOT sew over the chord, because you won’t be able to adjust the neckline!

Link 1

Link to the hood

After that, you should have something similar to my cloak!

IMG_0113 IMG_0120

Up next is the corset thingie:

1. The back side. Again, the given measurements are finished sides, so keep 2 cm extra, everywhere! As for the two diagonal lines, these are folds. I thought it was pretty, you can see them in picture 3 and 4 of the photoshoot.
You don’t have to finish the edge between front and back with the double fold, we’re just going to sew them together, I finished them with a little zigzag.
2. The front. I drew one side, but obviously you’ll need two of them. I added some interesting detail with the folds again, those are represented by the diagonal lines above the hips. I thought it was cool to make the finishing different here, so, for the straps: these are regular, with a distance of 1 cm inwards. The finishing on the bottom line and the small parts at the décolletage are 2 cm inwards. The shoelacing part is even more, but you need to look at the extra section I made. I used the part of the fabric that has a finish already when you buy it. I hope you know what I mean.
So, the eyelets that I got are a bit sharp, they can make ugly scratches at the white shirt I made that comes next. I needed a system to have this nice shoelacing corset AND protect my shirt. So I made a double fold in an S shape.
3. The chord. You’ll need two, one on each side. Now, before you rush in and sew the front and back pieces together, stop and read this. You have to put a chord in between the front and back. I placed them at the taille. You can sew the front and back together with the chord in between it. So, you’re sewing three things together at once. Make sure that you put the chord on the correct side!

The best strategy for this piece is to do the finishing of the edges last. That would be the straps, the bottom line, the decolletage, the armholes.. Just do all those finishings last.

The corset

The white shirt

This started out as a tube top, but then I added straps, and then I added sleeves. I just kept adding pieces. Then I created the embroidery which took me forever.

The only thing that probably needs some explanation is the corset system on the back. I made two pieces for the back with a third in between it. I got a white ribbon that I used for the loop thingies, just, sewed them onto the fabric, and as you can see, the actual shoelace thing is a champagne-ish ribbon that goes through them.
It’s complicated and if I were to do this again, I’d come up with something else. The pieces are sewn together in a very normal way, finishings are all about 1 cm inwards.

The shirt

And that’s a wrap! Wow.

If you’re a fan of Tolkiens work, or Peter Jacksons, I suggest we all go see the new movie. I hope you’ll enjoy it, I hope I will too, I have no idea, I haven’t read any reviews or spoilers or whatever. Please don’t tell me anything 🙂 Unless there are after-credits that I need to know about, but I read the book and my guess is no..

I’d like to ask your attention for one last thing though: watch the credits, please? It’s part of the film, and it’s something that I’m growing accustomed to. It’s called having respect for everyone that worked on the film. For example, there’s a Dutch company that made all the precast ears for all the characters. If it were up to me, we’d all give a standing ovation to the artists.  Spread the love! ❤

The long time hiatus will be over, because this is done. I need to paint. And I have some videos in store that need editing. And really good news: I have landed myself several jobs that are related to this blog.
First, there was Halloween. I had my own party, then I did 3 people on November 1st.
Second: I’m knitting a scarf for a cousin, which is brilliant, and also related to this blog
Last weekend one of my best friends ordered a beanie too 😛
And just now, I’ve been asked for the makeup for a photoshoot, with said friend!
Everything is awesome!

Love,

-M.

4 thoughts on “The Complete Elven Costume pattern

  1. Pingback: The Hobbit: the Final Adventure of the 21st Century Elf Ireth | There's something about rainbows

  2. Pingback: HALLOWEEN PART 1 | There's something about rainbows

Leave a Reply

