Work in progress – 23 nights ’till Halloween

IMG_5934

*Insert evil mhuahaha dr. Frankenstein sound*

Let it be clear that I am after this post on completely ignoring the fact that I was MIA on this blog for 3 months. I was going to do a post like: hey, I’m back! But screw that. No one reads it anyway 😛 This is not a travel blog people!
Though if you must know more about where the heck I’ve been, feel free to let me know and I might show of some awesome photos…

The best time of the year has arrived!! It’s October and that means HALLOWEEN!!!!!!

Seriously, this is the best Halloween EVER.
I am working on so many things right now, you have to see this once I have it all wrapped up. I’m so, supersuperstoked and happy about it and I can’t find the right words to describe how much I LOVE this.. 😀 Big shoutout to Tereza (Hi Tereza!) for her trust in me and her courage to be my model!

I know I had the best time last year, but this year is so much better. I have so much to do for Halloween, that when my ‘clients’ from last year called to ‘hire’ me again, I had to cancel..
I have at least 2 other people I’m doing makeup for on Halloween itself besides my own makeup.
I am probably also going to do the makeup of the party host.
Besides that I will be the on site MUA for party poopers that didn’t dress up so I can turn them into Halloween-worthy wonders.

All of that is so fantastic!
And of the people that I will be doing makeup for, I have done lots of research and homework, and we started preparing weeks ago. I invented something that is so cool! I filmed everything, won’t be able to edit but we’ll get there!

So above, that is something for my own look.
I decided to create my own latex glove so I can simply wear that over my hand at the party, while when I have to do makeup on site I can throw it off and work without worries about the paint or whatever on my hand.

I used some sculpting wax first to create longer fingertips, and I pressed some really weird fake nails into that (not visible in picture because it’s inside out). Then I created about 5 layers of liquid latex all over the hand and BAM, done!
Basically it’s just the regular process of using latex, except I did it on my own hand instead of a mall.

IMG_5920

This is some homemade fake blood! Whooohoo!
I’m really doing research into the DIY material like gelatine, this is just one of the things I have been playing with. So yeah, gelatine is pretty awesome.
I discovered that it is not OK to save some prepared gelatine outside of the freezer for over 2 weeks, because you’ll get a nasty side effect food generally tends to get, other than that, it’s brilliant!

On a non Halloween related note: I have been painting at the wall, but no pictures because I didn’t take my camera with me when I visited my parents, so, that will have to wait.

My life right now? Aside from all listed above, I’m good. I love living in this city, on my own. It took me a while to get the whole household thing down but it’s ok now. Cooking for myself really is paying off now, combine the portion control with cycling an hour everyday + going to the gym thrice a week and you’ll get a healthier lifestyle. Work is also pretty good!
Everything’s a little hectic because after a full-time job I push myself to the limit to work on Halloween stuff, work out and have a social life, so that’s also why it took me pretty long to get back to TSAR.

Anyways, I hope you’re still around, reading my blog! I really appreciate it and I wanted to show you this little something, and let you know that I am still alive and well, and also still really into doing makeup.

Love,

-M.

Leave a Reply

