I sewed a dress!

A little while ago I spontaneously decided to do another sewing project. I absolutely loved sewing my costumes and I wanted to do something again, but I didn’t need a costume. I did have this one dress that fits me very nicely and I really liked the idea of having another dress like that.

So I thought, let’s just do that! Now? Now!

insta 1

It was on a thursday that I made up my mind, while I had time to go to the markets for fabric on friday. No market on friday in the city. I went to a shop instead, which was waaaayyy more expensive than I remember my hometown market to be. Called mom, asked if there was a market for fabric on Saturday morning, because I wanted to go to my parents on saturday. I don’t own the sewing machine, it’s my mothers.
The answer was that the market was right then, on friday morning, and would be over in an hour. Even if I travelled to my hometown right away, I would be too late.
So screw that, I went to the store again, found the prettiest thing ever that is very very me, and ofcourse also a zipper.

insta 2

Then I worked on the dress for two weekends and I did it! HAH! Out of nowhere I decided to make my own dress and for a first time, I think this was pretty brilliant.
I could not have done this without my mother, she taught me everything I know about sewing (which is still pretty basic) and somehow, it just helps when she’s around ❤

Those of you that follow my instagram have already seen two little sneaky peeks, but here’s a little shoot of me in the dress.
I do not know why, but WordPress turns the last two pictures less blue. The first one shows the colour as it is. On my computer they’re all good, except not on the website. Does anyone have any tips on that? Like, it’s only the dress colour that looks weird, reds and greens are fine 🙂

IMG_6910

1

IMG_6892

 

Another thing that I mentioned on instaRainbow before, is that it’s a very educational project. There’s a lot of insight needed when making a piece of clothing. My respect for seamstresses has gone up A LOT. I really respect that the clothing industry is hard work and I completely understand why boutiques and little clothing shops are expensive: it’s because of all the hard work.
The amount of money I spent on this dress for materials equals the amount for which you can buy a complete dress at any shop that is relatively cheap.
I get it that when you make tons of the same thing, buying materials is cheaper, but still. It’s absolutely unbelievable how dresses can be sold for so little money, while I now know that I spent over 10 hours of time working on this simple piece.

It makes me feel somewhat guilty.

I really really hope that at some point, the world will be a better place where the women, and no longer children, that work on these pieces, will receive a fair treatment.
If you’re shocked and willing to change something, take a look at organisations that fight for a just system.
I’m afraid that if we all want to solely have clothing that was made in a fair way today, realistically we should all start sewing for ourselves again. Gotta start somewhere.
But that’s a lot of fun too, I assure you! 😀

Thanks again to my wonderful mother, and thank you all for the continuous support of my art projects.

Love,

-M.

One thought on “I sewed a dress!

  1. I agree with you! My admiration and respect for seamstresses had gone up a lot when I first tried to sew my own skirt. It took a lot of time and if I saw it in store, I wouldn’t buy it. I just took things for granted in the past.

Leave a Reply

